TASC Scoring System

The TASC (Test Assessing Secondary Completion) exam includes five subtests that are scored on a 300-800 scale.

The TASC contains five separate subtests (modules) that cover the academic fields of Mathematics, Language-Arts Writing, Language-Arts Reading, Science, and Social Studies.

Pass Your GED Test With Confidence.

Get Your GED Diploma Quickly with Onsego.
It doesn’t matter when you left school.

Get Started

On each of the five subtests, you are required to attain at least a 500 score so the minimally required overall score is 2500 and your essay score needs to be at least 2.

Please note that even when your cumulative total score is 2500 or better, you still are required to attain a 500 score in all subtests to pass the TASC™ exam.

Each of these five modules includes mostly multiple-choice questions, but you will also find extended response questions and gridded response questions.

The TASC exam is offered both on paper and on a computer except in West Virginia and New Jersey where you must take the exam on a computer. If you take the test in a computer-based format, you will also find advanced computer-adaptive questions in, for example, a draggable format.

The TASC is offered in New York State, New Jersey, and West Virginia. Indiana opted for an alternative option.

TASC raw score

The TASC raw score is based on the number of questions that you answered correctly in each of the five subtests.

Online GED Classes from Onsego -Fast, Easy & Affordable 

Get Your GED Certificate in 7 Weeks.

This raw score will then be put into a mathematical equation to convert it into a scaled score ranging from 300 to 800.

On each of the five subtests, you are required to attain at least a 500 score to pass that section. Additionally, you must attain at least a 2 score (out of 8) on the essay portion.

TASC essay

The second section of the TASC Language-Arts subtest includes also writing an essay based on a provided text and a prompt with instructions.

On the TASC exam, each multiple-choice or gridded response question is worth one point and there are no deductions for incorrect answers. So make sure you’ll answer all of the questions.

An extended response question can be worth more than one point if there are two or more correct answers. If questions have two parts, you are required to answer both parts correctly to get the answer right.

How is the TASC essay graded?

Your essay will be graded by two readers. They will grade your essay on a 0 to 4 scale, so your highest achievable essay score is 8.

If the readers score your essay within one point of one another, the scores are simply added together which will be your total essay score.

If the readers score your essay by more than one point, there will be a third reader and then, the two closest scores from these three scores are used for your final essay grade. This differs from what happens on the GED exam where the essay is computer-graded.

So if, for example, one reader scores your essay 4 while the second reader scores it 3, your total score is 7.

So on the TASC exam, your highest possible score is 800 in each of the five subtests or 4000 overall, and a score of 8 for your essay.

When you attained a 560 or higher score in Mathematics and Writing, and 580 or higher in Reading, you’ll receive a TASC “Distinguished Achievement” notation for those subject fields.

What is the TASC test?

The TASC exam is one of the three recognized high school equivalency tests in the U.S. The tests provide individuals who could not complete their regular high school education with one more chance to secure a secondary education credential.

Several states use the TASC exam as an alternative to the GED® test to measure knowledge and skills at a level that compares to that of graduating high school students.

That means that if you have attained satisfactory scores on all five subtests of the TASC exam, you will receive your state’s high school equivalency diploma.

This document has legally the same value as a common high school diploma so it allows you to get a better job or continue your education in college or university. The credential also allows you to apply for financial aid.

When will you get your TASC results?

How long it takes before you will receive your TASC scores varies slightly from state to state and depends also on whether you sat for the exam in a computer-based or paper-based format. Keep in mind that New Jersey only offers computer-based testing.

In general, if you took the computer-based TASC version, your score reports will be available within 2 to 3 days through your TASC account.

If you took the paper-based version, it may take up to 14 days before your score reports will be available. If you took the computer-based TASC exam, you’ll be able to see how you performed in most parts of the exam right after you’ve finished the test.

What if you didn’t pass?

If you didn’t reach the TASC passing score on one of the five TASC subtests, you can retake that subtest as many times as you need to pass that section. You don’t need to take the entire TASC battery again. You only have to retake the subtest(s) you failed.

Be aware, however, that retake policies vary by state. Indiana, for instance, requires test-takers to complete the entire TASC battery before they can retake any subtest(s).

In North Carolina, on the other hand, students were allowed to keep retesting any of the five subtests until they have attained a passing score, without first having to finish all five modules, but the state discontinued the TASC exam. There are now three states where the TASC exam is used.

States may also have specific time limits when it comes to retaking subtests, so make sure to carefully check your state’s regulations and rules when you plan to schedule a test.

The TASC exam offers you two free retakes per subject test but test centers may charge a fee. But usually, you’ll have to complete the entire TASC battery first. After these free attempts, you will have the pay the full price again.

Prepare well for the TASC exam

Passing the TASC exam and earning your state’s high school equivalency (HSE) diploma is a great achievement and a fantastic step towards a much bright future.

However, earning your HSE diploma is a challenging endeavor. The exam is pretty difficult and the passing criteria are set in such a way that around 40 percent of all high school grads would not attain passing scores on the first try.

So you’ll have to study hard to complete your TASC journey. This website offers you lots of preparation materials and practice tests at no cost at all to support you in achieving satisfactory TASC scores.

What states use the TASC exam?

The TASC exam is developed by the Data Recognition Corporation (DRC), a company that’s known for also the Test Assessing Basic Education (TABE).

The TASC exam is available in New Jersey, New York, and West Virginia. Indiana transitioned to an alternative option.

Last Updated on October 4, 2021.