States that offer the TASC

On this page, we inform you about the states that use the TASC exam for high school equivalency (HSE) testing.

The TASC test is one of the three nationally available recognized HSE tests in America besides the GED and HiSET exams.

HSE testing offers persons that never completed their high school curriculum the opportunity to earn an equivalent degree.

The TASC™ test includes five subtests that cover the academic subject areas of Mathematics, Social Studies, Science, English Writing, and English Reading.

The TASC test is created by the Data Recognition Corporation (DRC). This educational publisher is known for the TABE test (Test Assessing Basic Education).

The following states are using the TASC (Test Assessing Secondary Completion) for HSE testing:

  • New York

New York is one of four states that offer the TASC exam for its HSE program. If you want to take the five separate TASC subtests, you need to set up your account on the New York State TASC portal (

To schedule your tests, one at a time if you want, please go to the NYSE website to see where’s your nearest test center and schedule your test(s).

After you took the test, you can see your (still unofficial) scores when you log into your account. Usually, these unofficial scores will be available for some two weeks after you took the test.

Your New York State High School Equivalency Diploma will be mailed to you in eight-ten weeks after you passed all of the five TASC subtests.

The diploma that you’ll receive upon completion of the five TASC subtests is across North America accepted in lieu of a regular HS diploma.

In New York State, the TASC test is free to state residents and free TASC prep courses are available at numerous sites across the state as well.

  • New Jersey

The state of New Jersey offers all three available HSE tests (GED®, TASC, and HiSET®) for HSE testing, but not all testing centers administer all three options so get well-informed!

You must create your account on the TASC/New Jersey portal ( Then, you can contact a TASC test center near you and schedule your tests. All U.S. test centers are listed here.

In New Jersey, all available HSE exams must be taken on a computer. In other states, the TASC test is offered both on-paper and on-computer, but In New Jersey, paper-based TASC testing is not possible unless it is approved as an accommodation to qualifying test-takers.

In New Jersey, the TASC exam (all five subtests) will set you back $106, which is slightly cheaper than the GED test. More New Jersey information can be found here.

  • Indiana

Indiana uses exclusively the TASC exam for HSE testing. You can take the five TASC subtests on paper or on a computer. When taking the exam on a computer, you’ll find not only multiple-choice questions but also questions in a computer-adaptive format.

When the latest version of the GED test was introduced a few years ago, Indiana decided to change to the TASC test for its HSE program as the latest version of the GED exam became only available in a computer-based format and the cost went up drastically.

The total cost for taking the five TASC modules may vary slightly as testing centers may charge different testing fees but in general, the entire exam will cost around $90. Check also our post that lists high school equivalency testing costs in every state.

To schedule your TASC tests, contact a test center near you, and then, you can also learn more about what the testing costs are and the payment modes they accept.

You need to set up your account on the TASC website ( and when searching for a test center location near you, you should enter your zip code. Check here for more Indiana TASC details.

In July 2021, Indiana will transit from the TASC to the HiSET® exam for high school equivalency testing.

  • West Virginia

The state of West Virginia uses only the TASC exam for High School Equivalency testing purposes. This is the only option available in the state. You need to create your account on the TASC website (

Before you create your account in the TASC system, however, you should contact an Adult Basic Education (ABE) center near you to learn more about how to register for the TASC exam.

You can take the five TASC subtests (individual modules) one at a time. There’s no need to deal with the entire TASC battery in one take.

In West Virginia, The TASC exam is free for state residents. If you fail one of the subtests, you can retake only that part at no cost as well. For more West Virginia TASC details, check here.

TASC scoring system

The five TASC (Test Assessing Secondary Completion) subtests are scored on a scale from 300 to 800. On each subtest, the required score is 500. This means that your minimally required total score is 2500. On top of that, you need to reach at least a score of 2 for your essay. Learn more about the TASC passing score here.

Averaging subject test scores is not possible, so even when your cumulative score is (far) above 2500, you still don’t pass the TASC exam if one of your subtest scores is under 500!

So the highest possible score on each of the five TASC subtests is 800, or in total 4000, and your maximum essay score is 8.

When you’ve reached a score of 560 and up in Math and Writing, and a 580 score or up in Reading, you’ll be awarded a “Distinguished Achievement” notation in those TASC subject fields.

How is your essay graded?

There are two readers that grade your essay on a scale from 0 to 4. So the highest achievable score on your essay is 8. If the two readers come up with a score within 1 point, their scores are added up and that is your essay score.

See also this post about how to compose your essay. It’s a post about the HiSET essay, but writing your TASC essay works similarly.

If the two readers’ scores are more than 1 point apart, a third reader will come in, and then, the two closest scores will determine your essay grade.

So for example, if one of the readers gives your essay a 4-score while the other reader rewards it with a 3-score, your essay score will be 7.

Prepare well

Passing the five TASC subject tests and earning a high school equivalency diploma are great achievements! This is truly an important step towards a brighter future as your diploma allows for better job options and college education.

However, the TASC is a rather challenging exam and the passing standards are set at such a level that some 40 percent of high school graduates would not pass the exam on their first try.

So getting optimally prepared is crucial and taking practice tests (available for free on this website) lets you discover your stronger and weaker points so you can center fully on those areas that require most of your study time.

For more information, please contact the TASC Exam Help Desk at (toll-free) 888-282-0589.


Last Updated on April 19, 2021.

People Also Read: